TEL 705-474-1400 FAX 705-474-8252

myhealthunit.ca 1-800-563-2808

Geographic Areas Serviced by the North Bay Parry Sound District Health Unit – B-G-001

Board of Health Policy

1.0 **Policy Statement**

The Board of Health for the North Bay Parry Sound District Health Unit (Health Unit) provides its programs and services in the geographic areas determined by Ontario legislation and/or funding criteria.

2.0 **Purpose**

This policy describes the geographic areas serviced by the Health Unit as legislated by the Province of Ontario.

3.0 Scope / Responsibility

This policy sets out the geographic areas serviced by the Health Unit.

The Board of Health through the Medical Officer of Health/Executive Officer ensures that this policy is followed.

4.0 **Procedure**

Areas serviced by the Health Unit include (see maps on pages 3 and 4 below):

- a) The City of North Bay
- b) The areas in East Nipissing, including, the Municipalities of Calvin, East Ferris, and Mattawan, the Town of Mattawa, the Townships of Bonfield, Chisholm, and Papineau-Cameron.
- c) The Municipality of West Nipissing.
- d) The areas in North East Parry Sound District, including, the Municipalities of Powassan and Callander, the Villages of South River and Sundridge, and the Townships of Machar and Nipissing.
- e) The areas in South East Parry Sound District, including, the Municipality of Magnetawan, the Town of Kearney, the Village of Burk's Falls, the Townships of Armour, Joly, McMurrich/Monteith, Perry, Ryerson, and Strong.
- f) The areas in West Parry Sound District, including, the Municipalities of McDougall and Whitestone, the Town of Parry Sound, the Townships of Carling, McKellar, Seguin, and The Archipelago.
- g) The Unorganized Geographic Townships of Angus, Antoine, Ballantyne (portion), Blair, Blyth, Boulter, Boyd (portion), Brown, Burnaby, Butler, Charlton, Clarkson, Commanda, East Mills, Eddy, Eldridge, Flett, French, Garrow, Gladman, Gooderham, Hammell, Hardy, Harrison, Hartle, Hebert, Henvey, Hobbs, Jocko, Kenny, LaSalle, Lauder, Laurier, Lockhart, Lount, Lyman, McAuslan, McCallum, McConkey, McLaren, Merrick, Mowat (portion), Mulock, Notman, Olrig,

Osborne, Pardo, Parkman, Patterson, Pentland, Phelps, Poitras, Pringle, Shawanaga, Stewart, Thistle, Wallbridge, Wilson, and Wyse.

5.0 Records Retention

All records relating to this Policy are retained in accordance with the Records Retention and Management work instruction (WI-HU-108).

6.0 References

Internal References

- a) North Bay Parry Sound District Health Unit, Board of Health Bylaws.
- b) Quality Assurance Manual (1999).
- c) Records Retention and Management WI-HU-108
- d) Map North Bay Parry Sound Board of Health Municipal Geographic Designations (page 3 below)
- e) Map North Bay Parry Sound District Health Unit Geographic Townships for Unorganized Territories (page 4 below)

External References

- a) Health Protection and Promotion Act, R.S.O., 1990, c H.7. E-Laws Website
- b) Ontario Regulation 64/05 (amending Regulation 553 R.R.O. 1990 Areas Comprising Health Units). E-Laws Website
- c) Municipal Act, 2001, S.O. 2001, c 25. E-Laws Website

7.0 Summary of Revisions

2019-02-27 – Minor revisions to Sections, 1.0, 2.0, 3.0, and 4.0 b), and to the first map.

8.0 Board Policy Development Details

Author: John Mitchell, Planning and Evaluation & Dr. Jim Chirico, Medical Officer of Health/Executive Officer

Reviewed by: John Mitchell

Date Approved by Board of Health: 2019-04-24

Resolution Number: BOH/2019/04/05

Date Approved in Portal by Dr. Chirico: 2019-05-13

Date Issued: 2019-05-16

Date Due for Review: 2021-05-16





